• 1

History of the Rotary Club of Aggieland

by James T. Moore,  Jennifer A. Hathaway, and J. Marvin Walker

Chartered December 1995

The Bryan/College Station area is one of fastest growing areas in the State. The accelerated growth and excellent economic development started Rotarians of the Bryan and College Station Clubs thinking about the feasibility of creating another Rotary Club in the area. In 1992-93, the thinking got serious and the District Governor was approached by a small contingency from the two local clubs about starting the ball rolling to charter the third Rotary Club in the area. This had been a dream of many for several years and now the dream was about to take fruition.

In November 1994, Clare Gunn, a long-standing member of the College Station club, was appointed as Special Representative of Extension by the Past District Governor Ed Mabry to put a committee together that would consist of members of the Bryan and College Station Clubs. The Extension Committee consisted of Doris Watson, Ed Morris, Phyllis Davis, John Flynn, Fred Dollar, Howard Ritchey and Clare Gunn. While all contributed ideas, time and effort on the project, history would be remiss if Clare Gunn was not singled out for his untiring leadership and effort in organizing, developing and literally putting the wheels in motion. He became the mentor and role model of Rotary for the new club. He helped establish a solid foundation from which our club could build and grow into a successful Rotary club of service to the local and international communities by following the Rotary motto of “Service Above Self”.

The Extension Survey was completed and submitted in December 14, 1994 to Alex Broussard, the Governor of Rotary District 5910. The first weekly organizational meeting consisted of approximately 20 potential members and was held at noon on May 16, 1995 at the Old Country Buffet in College Station. Over the next several months, weekly planning meetings were held that involved introductions , songs, presentations and announcements that resembled regular Rotary meetings. There was much enthusiasm in interviewing, screening and proposing Charter Members. Our commitments to memberships grew to 37 Provisional members. The goal for starting a new club was 25. The club was very excited and upbeat about exceeding their goal.

The Provisional Club voted on its first name:  The Rotary Club of Brazos County, Texas. Officers and a Board of Directors were elected. (see above).

The Charter was submitted to Rotary International for approval in October 1995 and was immediately approved in October 1995. (See above for Charter Members).

On December 13, 1995, the Provisional Rotary Club of Brazos County officially became the Rotary Club of Brazos County. It was presented the formal charter at a banquet held at Pebble Creek Country Club in College Station, Texas. The keynote speaker was PVP, PDG Don Strickland and sponsoring Rotary Clubs of Bryan and College Station were represented by President Jerry Shook and President John Flynn, respectively. Alex Broussard, the District Governor of 5910, administered the Charter presentation.

Now the real work began for the new Rotary Club of Brazos County – the challenge of transforming names on a piece of paper to an energetic group of community leaders that would come together as a successful community service organization. We began by establishing our weekly meetings on Fridays at noon at Briarcrest Country Club. It was later changed to noon on Thursdays.

Over the club’s nearly 18-year history, many exciting and worthwhile events, accomplishments, and activities in support of the local and international communities have been put into motion.



From the Blog!

What's new with Aggieland Rotary?

Rotary Club of Aggieland Funds Grant to El Salvador Orphanage
Robert Horton, representing SHIP accepts grant from Sarah Misemer, President of the Rotary Club of Aggieland for El Salvador Orphange.

Bryan— Rotary Club of Aggieland...