• 1

The Spirit Award



The Edgar Morris Spirit Award is an annual award given to recognize a person or persons who have made a significant humanitarian contribution to the Bryan/College Station area. A $500 monetary gift is given to the charity of the recipient’s choice.

The Edgar Morris Spirit Award was conceived and developed by Carol MdFaddin and her committe in 1996 as The Spirit Award. On November 19, 1998, the award was renamed to the Edgar Morris Spirit Award in recognition of one of our charter members, Edgar Morris, who had passed away.

Edgar Morris exemplified service to others in his life and was a great humanitarian. He was a mentor to new members, always willing to share Rotary history but also willing to eagerly embrace the changes in Rotary including the induction of women. It was a unanimous decision by the membership and board of directors to rename the award in his honor.

Edgar Morris Spirit Award Recipients

  • 1996 – Drs. Karim and Asher Haji – Health for All Clinic
  • 1997 – J.J. Ramirez – Save Our Streets Ministries
  • 1998 – Linda Asberry – Principal of Neal Elementary School
  • 1999 – Gloria Kennard – Thanksgiving dinners from her kitchen
  • 2000 – Bill Erwin – BISD Education Foundation
  • 2001 – Eric Bethea, Nick Luton, John Orsinsky, Cole Robertson and Kourtney Rodgers – the Aggie students who organized “Standing for America” with the Red, White and Blue t-shirts worn at Kyle Field on 9/22/01
  • 2002 – Tonya Chandler-Homestead Haven; an after-school program at First Christian Church
  • 2003 – W.F. “Bubba” Moore, Jr.-Habitat for Humanity
  • 2004 – Jim Davis-volunteer construction coordinator for Habitat for Humanity and Elder Aid
  • 2005 – Marian Cune – Volunteer Director of the Lighthouse Mission.

 Aggieland Rotary Spirit Award Nomination

Please fill out the information below to nominate somebody for the Rotary Club of Aggieland Edgar Morris Spirit Award.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Your Phone (required)

Nomination Name (required)

Nomination Email (required)

Nomination Phone (required)

Street Address

Address Line 2



Zip Code

This person should be considered for the following reasons: (required)

I hereby nominate the above individual(s) for the Edgar Morris Spirit Award





From the Blog!

What's new with Aggieland Rotary?

Rotary Club of Aggieland Funds Grant to El Salvador Orphanage
Robert Horton, representing SHIP accepts grant from Sarah Misemer, President of the Rotary Club of Aggieland for El Salvador Orphange.

Bryan— Rotary Club of Aggieland...